top of page

FROM MOM'S WARDROBE

IN MY VERY OWN TRADITIONAL OUTFIT


I have always wanted to try out my very own traditional outfit "Mekhela Chador". This festive season I got a little excited, since everybody has made an effort to look their best. I decided to embrace my origin, I have grown up seeing my mom wearing Mekhela Chador and was so excited to try out her vibrant beauties. I got hold of Mom's wardrobe and honestly I was blown away by the colors. I decided to go for a red and black color Mekhela chador and I absolutely love it. It is super comfortable and super easy to wear. It has traditional motifs all over the body with a beautiful blend of red and black color that perfectly balances its beauty. I literally love almost everything about this Mekhela Chador. I have managed to pair it up with a golden sleeveless blouse and accesorize it with a choker neck piece and a beautiful round earring.

Honestly I am super excited to show off my traditional outfit.


Here is a Fun Fact:

Mekhela Chador is a traditional Assamese dress. There are two main pieces of cloth along with a blouse

1. The Mekhela is the bottom portion wrapped around the waist. It is actually a wide cylinder of cloth folded into pleats and tucked in. The folds are to the right side.

2. Chador is the top portion of the two pieces, it is the longest cloth wrapped around the body with one end tucked in the mekhela.


“AXOMIYA JIYORI.”



I guess we don't realise how beautiful our traditional outfit is unless we try out and see the beauty for ourself.I have to admit I am falling in love with every element of it.

We are lucky enough to experience the most unique and diverse culture.




Isn't it such a beauty?













Lots of love to all

SMILE SMILE SMILE !!!

 


111 views2 comments
bottom of page